Our Accreditation


Bethel Seminary is accredited by the Commission on Accrediting of the Association of Theological Schools (ATS).  ATS is the national accrediting agency for theological schools in the United States and Canada.  The seminary is a school within Bethel University, which is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (hlcommission.org), a regional accreditation agency.  Both ATS and HLC are recognized by the United States Department of Education and by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation.  


Bethel University, including its seminary, is governed by a board of at least 20, and not more than 39, trustees. A majority are elected by the delegates to the biennial meeting of Converge, two are representatives of the district executive ministers council of Converge, and additional members are appointed by the Board of Trustees subject to confirmation by the biennial meeting delegates. President Scott Ridout of Converge is an ex-officio member with voting rights. President Jay Barnes and Executive Vice President and Provost Deb Harless respectively serve as the Chief Executive Officer of the board and Executive Vice President for Bethel University. Randy Bergen is the Associate Provost for the Seminary.  Peter T. Vogt serves as the Dean of Bethel Seminary. 

Bethel Seminary operates within Bethel University, a leading institution for Christian higher education with students from around the world enrolled in more than 100 bachelor’s and advanced degree programs through the Seminary, College of Arts & Sciences, College of Adult & Professional Studies, and Graduate School.

Connect with Bethel